Patrick Mahomes – LVII Super Bowl MVP 2023

4 minutes

Last Updated: February 13, 2023


There is a reason why the Super Bowl is the most-watched sports game in the world. It is not only the biggest game of the NFL season but also one of the biggest entertainment events in the world.

Like all of the Super Bowls before it, Super Bowl LVII had two great teams stacked with extraordinary individuals fighting for the ultimate glory of the NFL ring. However, only one player could bring home both the Super Bowl ring and the award for the Super Bowl MVP 2023.

Who Won the Super Bowl MVP 2023?

Who Won the Super Bowl MVP 2023

Well, the Super Bowl MVP Vote was loud and clear.

The 2023 Super Bowl MVP is Patrick Mahomes, the Kansas City Chiefs quarterback.

Mahomes led the Chiefs to a last-second 38-35 victory over the Philadelphia Eagles, earning his 2nd Super Bowl MVP trophy. His first one came in Super Bowl LIV in 2020.

While his numbers were not extraordinary, he took every chance the Eagles gave him and finished the game with 21 for 27 for 182 yards, three touchdowns, and 44 rushing yards.

This is the fewest passing yards for a quarterback who won the Super Bowl MVP honors since 2001, when Tom Brady had 145 in his maiden Super Bowl.

However, if we consider that the Eagles had possession for more than ⅔ of the first half, these numbers look pretty solid for the two-time NFL Most Valuable Player.

The performance looks even more impressive, knowing that Mahomes played the game with an injured ankle, which was hit hard again during a scramble before the halftime show and led to him hobbling to the sidelines.

Fortunately for Chiefs fans, the regular season MVP came even stronger in the second half and led a 10-play drive in the opening minutes of the third quarter, resulting in an Isiah Pacheco rushing score.

The next drive also resulted in the Chiefs scoring. This time Mahomes led the nine plays and hit Kadarius Toney on a 5-yard score, earning his second passing touchdown of the game. His third and last touchdown pass was a short but important one, as it put Kansas City up by 6 with 9 minutes remaining in the contest.

His most impressive drive of the night came when he led a 12-play drive that took just more than five minutes off the clock. And finally, with 11 seconds remaining in the game, Mahones took a knee at the 9-yard line and set up Harrison Butker for the winning field goal.

Other Quarterbacks to Win Super Bowl MVP

Super Bowl MVPs

Mahomes became the 33rd quarterback to win Super Bowl MVP. The Chiefs’ quarterback is the first player since Kurt Warner in 1999 to win NFL MVP and Super Bowl MVP in the same season.

NFL players Players to win league MVP and the Super Bowl in the same season:

  • Bart Starr (1967)
  • Terry Bradshaw (1978)
  • Mark Moseley (1982)
  • Lawrence Taylor (1986)
  • Joe Montana (1989)
  • Emmitt Smith (1993)
  • Steve Young (1994)
  • Brett Favre (1996)
  • Terrell Davis (1998)
  • Kurt Warner (1999)
  • Patrick Mahomes (2022)

He is also the 13th starting quarterback to win at least two Super Bowls and the 6th quarterback to win multiple Super Bowl MVPs.

NFL starting quarterbacks with multiple Super Bowl wins:

  • Bart Starr (I, II)
  • Bob Griese (VII, VIII)
  • Roger Staubach (VI, XII)
  • Terry Bradshaw (IX, X, XIII, XIV)
  • Jim Plunkett (XV, XVIII)
  • Joe Montana (XVI, XIX, XXIII, XXIV)
  • Troy Aikman (XXVII, XXVIII, XXX)
  • John Elway (XXXII, XXXIII)
  • Ben Roethlisberger (XL, XLIII)
  • Peyton Manning (XLI, 50)
  • Eli Manning (XLII, XLVI)
  • Patrick Mahomes (LIV, LVIII)

NFL quarterbacks with multiple Super Bowl MVPs:

  • Bart Starr (I, II)
  • Terry Bradshaw (XIII, XIV)
  • Joe Montana (XVI, XIX, XXIV)
  • Tom Brady (XXXVI, XXXVIII, XLIX, LI, LV)
  • Eli Manning (XLII, XLVI)
  • Patrick Mahomes (LIV, LVII)

Previous Super Bowl MVP Winners

Year Super Bowl MVP Team Position
1967 I Bart Starr Packers QB
1968 II Bart Starr Packers QB
1969 III Joe Namath Jets QB
1970 IV Len Dawson Chiefs QB
1971 V Chuck Howley Cowboys LB
1972 VI Roger Staubach Cowboys QB
1973 VII Jake Scott Dolphins S
1974 VIII Larry Csonka Dolphins RB
1975 IX Franco Harris Steelers RB
1976 X Lynn Swann Steelers WR
1977 XI Fred Biletnikoff Raiders WR
1978 XII Harvey Martin/Randy White Cowboys DE/DT
1979 XIII Terry Bradshaw Steelers QB
1980 XIV Terry Bradshaw Steelers QB
1981 XV Jim Plunkett Raiders QB
1982 XVI Joe Montana 49ers QB
1983 XVII John Riggins Redskins RB
1984 XVIII Marcus Allen Raiders RB
1985 XIX Joe Montana 49ers QB
1986 XX Richard Dent Bears DE
1987 XXI Phil Simms Giants QB
1988 XXII Doug Williams Redskins QB
1989 XXIII Jerry Rice 49ers WR
1990 XXIV Joe Montana 49ers QB
1991 XXV Ottis Anderson Giants RB
1992 XXVI Mark Rypien Redskins QB
1993 XXVII Troy Aikman Cowboys QB
1994 XXVIII Emmitt Smith Cowboys RB
1995 XXIX Steve Young 49ers QB
1996 XXX Larry Brown Cowboys CB
1997 XXXI Desmond Howard Packers KR/PR
1998 XXXII Terrell Davis Broncos RB
1999 XXXIII John Elway Broncos QB
2000 XXXIV Kurt Warner Rams QB
2001 XXXV Ray Lewis Ravens LB
2002 XXXVI Tom Brady Patriots QB
2003 XXXVII Dexter Jackson Buccaneers S
2004 XXXVIII Tom Brady Patriots QB
2005 XXXIX Deion Branch Patriots WR
2006 XL Hines Ward Steelers WR
2007 XLI Peyton Manning Colts QB
2008 XLII Eli Manning Giants QB
2009 XLIII Santonio Holmes Steelers WR
2010 XLIV Drew Brees Saints QB
2011 XLV Aaron Rodgers Packers QB
2012 XLVI Eli Manning Giants QB
2013 XLVII Joe Flacco Ravens QB
2014 XLVIII Malcolm Smith Seahawks LB
2015 XLIX Tom Brady Patriots QB
2016 50 Von Miller Broncos LB
2017 LI Tom Brady Patriots QB
2018 LII Nick Foles Eagles QB
2019 LIII Julian Edelman Patriots WR
2020 LIV Patrick Mahomes Chiefs QB
2021 LV Tom Brady Buccaneers QB
2022 LVI Cooper Kupp Rams WR
2023 LVII Patrick Mahomes Chiefs QB

Copyright ©